Entry 12: A Funny Detail

diary

I don’t know why I decide to write this now… 💧💧💧⛈⛈⛈ must be this rain…. 👂🏼👂🏼👂🏼 Just a funny detail…

I walked into the dressing room and Kat was sitting in a chair. Her leg awkwardly lifted up as she unzipped her black thigh high boot. She sloppily plopped her leg down and drunkenly lifted the next one, a vacant expression on her face curled into a dumb smirk. So I told her promptly, “You need to stop drinking girl. You’re sloppy.”

There. I just told her what it was. I don’t even consider us friends like that, but someone needed to tell her.

“What?” She asked, maybe surprised, maybe confused, “I drink too much?”

“Yes, and you need to stop. It’s not safe in this type of place for you to be drunk like that.”

I sat down and started to straighten out my money. Her metallic dingy bottoms reflected the fluorescent light. And then she lifted her finger and looked at me and said, no shit she
said this, ☝🏾☝🏾☝🏾️

“Big🐗Bear🌵🌟loves you.” She sucked her teeth.

“That’s what your problem is. Big🐗 Bear’s🌵🌟 in love with you,” she swayed right in her chair, her weave flopped back, her eyes weren’t even open, “You guys are in love. Yeap.” She sighed heavy and slouched forward, her stomach rolled like coagulated pudding. Her slurred speech halted while the gears turned. Then she continued, “I wish I had that. No guys ever want me like that.” A matter-of-fact expression crossed her face. Like what? I thought to myself. Eyes closed she pursed her lips.

And I just looked at her. I didn’t even know what to say. I was frozen stupidly, gaping, my count of dollar bills now lost, wondering whether that rendered a “thanks?” or silent smile. So I looked down at my hands. I hadn’t even mentioned anything about that guy.

***

This was the Saturday night before I broke up with him.

Leave a Reply

